Not That Kind of Girl

I finished book 1 of 12 (at least). I bought it at the airport on our way back from CA and finished it on the beach in HI last week. It’s difficult for me to make time to read. I’d rather surf. Or sleep. Or surf the internet. But my goal for 2015 is to read more!

I really want to be best friends with Lena Dunham. She’s witty, intelligent, humorous, and a little weird. I think we’d get along!

I like to underline in my books. So, these are my favorites:

__________

“When someone shows you how little you mean to them and you keep coming back for more, before you know it you start to mean less to yourself. You are not made up of compartments! You are one whole person! What gets said to you gets said to all of you, ditto what gets done. Being treated like shit is not an amusing game or a transgressive intellectual experiment.” pg. 49

__________

“I don’t love any of my old boyfriends anymore. I’m not sure I ever did, and I’m not sure if at the time I thought I was sure. My mother says that’s normal that men are proud of every one of their conquests, and women wish they could forget it all. She says that’s an essential gender difference and I can’t say I disprove her theory. What keeps me from full revulsion, from wanting sexual equivalent of an annulment, is thinking about what I got from each one that I still hold on to now.” pg. 77

__________

“As we strode onto the lawn, I nodded at the teachers, dressed to the nines in their Hogwarts garb for the tenth, thirtieth, fiftieth year in a row. Later, motherfuckers.” pg. 173

__________

“If I had known how much I’d miss these sensations I might have experienced them differently, recognized their shabby glamour, respected the ticking clock that defined this entire experience. I would have put aside my resentment, dropped my defenses. I might have a basic understanding of European history or economics. More abstractly, I might feel I had truly been somewhere, open and porous and hungry to learn. Because being a student was an enviable identity and one I can only reclaim by attending community college late in life for a bookmaking class or something … I didn’t drink in the essence of the classroom. I didn’t take legible notes or dance all night. I thought I would marry my boyfriend and grow old and sick of him. I thought I would keep my friends, and we’d make different, new memories. None of that happened. Better things happened.” pg. 176

__________

“My mother and I are in the worst fight we’ve ever had, one that tests the concept of unconditional love, not to mention basic human decency. And the thing is, no one is right exactly. We both followed our hearts and had no choice but to hurt each other deeply.” pg. 217

__________

“First she explains some basic “facts” about the mother-daughter relationship. (“You are her possession, but you are also a person.”) Next she’ll tell me we both behaved in perfectly understandable, if unpleasant, ways. (“I get it” is a favorite phrase.) “So,” she concludes. “This is actually a chance to teach the next phase of your bond if you will let it be. I know that you can come out of this stronger than before if you can tell her, “You’re my mother and I need you, but in a different way than before. Please let us change together.” I hang up and feel the panic subside for the first time in days: Relationship Expert Dr. Linda Jordan has helped me … I hang up the phone and call my mother: “I love you,” I say. “You’re my mother, and I need you, but in a different way than before. Please let us change, together.” “That’s fucking bullshit,” she says. I can tell she’s in a store.” pg. 219

__________

“4. Related: I am scared about what my cell phone is doing to my brain. And yet I have never used an earbud for more than half a day. The most terrifying aspect of human health is our refusal to take steps to help ourselves and the fact that we are so often responsible for our own demise through lack of positive action. It makes me want to take a nap.” pg. 235

__________

“You’ve learned a new rule and it’s simple: don’t put yourself in situations you’d like to run away from. But when you run, run back to yourself, like that bunny in Runaway Bunny runs to its mother, but you are the mother, and you’ll see that later and be very, very proud.” pg. 262

__________

 photo IMG_9425_zpsnknkmyrm.jpg

What should I read next…?

Tagged

Leave a Reply

