“I solemnly swear…”

Over the past 5+ years, Trevor never thought he would succumb to reenlisting for another 3 years. But when there’s an option to stay in Hawaii, get a few college classes out of the way, and save the G.I. Bill for medical school, why not?
We woke up Saturday morning (on the 237th Navy birthday!) at 5:00 am, packed the truck, and made our way down south. When we arrived we met Trevor’s boss, LT. Patel, the reenlisting officer (his doc). They signed his discharge paperwork, and for a few minutes, Trevor was free.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Trevor’s doc, LT. Patel, his enlisted leader, HM1 Santos “Joe”, one of his junior sailors, HM3 Moreno, T, and I paddled out past the break at Tonggs.

Photobucket

We took a few photos while we waited for the others to catch up.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Finally making it out, we set up for the ceremony in front of Diamond Head Crater.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Reminding Trevor he was not currently in the Navy.

Photobucket

Trevor repeating after LT. Patel the Enlistment Oath.

Photobucket

He’s BACK IN the Navy! 3 more years!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Time to surf!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

After nearly drowning from the weight of his dress whites, Trevor went in to change and then paddled right back out.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Us.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I got up too early and didn’t make it onto the wave with T.

Photobucket

After catching the first wave of the set, I paddled back out towards Trevor. The next few waves were quite large and I thought I would be able to make it over before it broke. But I was mistaken. The wave crashed just as I was nearing the top and it sucked me back. This was Trevor’s helpless reaction to me going over the falls:

Photobucket

I will always love this moment.

Photobucket

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on ““I solemnly swear…”

  1. Kelsy says:

    Trevor,

    Congrats – this was an amazing reenlistment!!! Suites you well!

  2. Mom says:

    I try not to leave a reply but I just want to tell you two how special you are and how proud I am of both of you. Looking forward to Thanksgiving.
    I love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

