Here Today, Gone to Maui

Trevor and I woke up Thursday morning around 4:00 am to make it to the airport and on the plane by 7:00 am. Getting through security took about 5 min. Oahu to Maui is a 20-30 min. flight.
Easy breezy.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Back in August 2006, I moved to Maui with a coworker. I was sick of CSUF, living at home, and dealing with Fullerton. Only being there a month and a half, I realized I wasn’t happy and needed to finish college. Coming back 6 years later, it’s weird. I recognize a lot of shops/buildings. But at the same time, it’s new to me. We didn’t venture to the many sites Trevor and I visited this time. It was definitely an interesting trip.

Molokini, we’ll see you soon!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We had a choice of red or green. We went with green hoping to flea from the “spot the tourist” rental car game we play back on Oahu.

Photobucket

Our first stop (recommended by Yelp), breakfast at Cafe Mambo in a small town called Paia.

Photobucket

We each ordered a different breakfast burrito and then swapped. They were pretty delicious.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Our first scenic stop.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We wanted to put the top down but had a little trouble ;) Maybe we DO look like tourists..

Photobucket

After breakfast, we drove to Lahaina (my old stomping grounds) and stayed at the Pioneer Inn on Front Street.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Our little lanai and view.

Photobucket

The large banyon tree in front of our place.

Photobucket

Photobucket

In the lobby.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

We walked around for a few hours.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We met up with my parents and showed them where exactly I lived on Front Street – I did not realize how far we actually were from the night life in Lahaina.

Photobucket

I stayed in this studio for $550 a month.

Photobucket

Later that night, Trevor and I enjoyed the famous Lahaina sunset together.

Photobucket

We ate dinner at Cool Cats (thanks, Yelp). It was the closest thing to eating an In-N-Out burger.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Views from up top.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Day One = Wonderful.

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Here Today, Gone to Maui

  1. Mary says:

    Nice photos. If you’re interested in more recommendations, let me know. I go back yearly since my extended family lives there.

    • How exciting. We’ve only eaten at a few places, but some delicious ones at that. I will post recommendations in the next few days.

      • Mary says:

        Unfortunately, my favorite restaurant changed owners a couple of years ago and I don’t know if it’s still as good. If you go to SeaWatch in Wailea, I’d like to know if it’s still good.m

        If you like seafood, I’d suggest Mama’s Fish House in Paia. It’s a splurge and reservations are recommended, but very good. The menu changes depending on what they catch that day.

  2. Rick Phillips says:

    You’re quite a photographer. Great pictures!

Leave a Reply

