I Didn’t Get Bent!

As we were planning our Big Island trip, we realized that we needed to get on that dive certification ASAP. We’ve had TBD scheduled for dive dates since February. But because we’re so stoked on the idea of a night dive with manta rays, we’re getting it done! Saturday we had our 4 mini quizzes and a 50 question final. (I’m sure I was caught cheating.. I didn’t want to fail). After our test, we did a pool dive.

Photobucket

IMG_5048IMG_5044

Photobucket

We started driving towards Lanikai and started wondering where this secret pool is. We stopped in front of a house I always run by. It turns out it’s the instructor’s parents’ house… Anyways, it was interesting going through dive techniques and safety rules.. in a 8ft pool. After our pool dive, we finally tried Maui Tacos in Kailua. I enjoyed my mango salad.

Photobucket

Saturday was our first (and second) open water dive. I was SUPER nervous because I didn’t want to get the bends.

“Relationships are like scuba diving. If you come up too fast, you get the bends. And the reason why I know this is because I was dating a guy once and we were scuba diving and I told him I loved him underwater and he shot up really fast and got the bends.”
-Leslie Knope Parks and Recreation
(One of our favorite shows)

I’ve been known to get sea sick too…

IMG_5051IMG_5053

We dived in Hawaii Kai with a unique group of individuals… (Excuse Trevor’s silly face :))

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

The first dive was to Koko Crater at 40ft. The first 15 minutes for me was panic. Relying on a tank of air is scary. I also didn’t like not being able to close my mouth all the way (the mouth piece is weirdly in the way). But after the panic, I got to see tons of fish swimming all around me, some approaching my mask and checking me out! We spent around 40 minutes down there. Our second dive was to Angler’s Cove at 35ft. We practiced flooding our mask, sharing air, taking off and on our BCD/weights. At the bottom, there was a massive turtle napping with one arm around the anchor (to stabilize). We spent about 35 minutes down there.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We had a lot of fun! Our third and fourth dive (and our last before certification) are on Thursday morning. We’re ready!

Photobucket

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

