Visiting Hawaii Essentials

Photobucket

In less than 24 hours, my family will be getting off a plane… In Honolulu… To spend their spring break with me and Trevor :) The last time we saw them was in early January for Christmas break. To miss them and Lola would be an understatement. I miss family dinners with inappropriate conversation topics. I miss the joking. To be honest, I miss their company. It gets lonely out here when the boyfriend works. I also miss cuddling with mah sweet thang, Lola girl. She’s my best friend and some nights would be easier if she was here to cuddle with. With all that being said, Trevor has planned the heck out of this upcoming vacay ;)

Itinerary (subject to change):
Wednesday

  • Pick up parentals and Michael from the airport
  • Lunch – El Mariachi
  • Check-in/Base passes
  • Commissary
  • Show them our place
  • BBQ?

Thursday

  • Breakfast – Koa Pancake House
  • Kayaks or hike
  • Lunch – ?
  • Relax on the beach
  • Dinner – Farmer’s Market

Friday

  • Breakfast – Crepes No Ka Oi
  • Relax on the beach
  • Pick up Alex from the airport
  • Lunch – Cheeseburger in Paradise
  • Waikiki/First Friday
  • Dinner – ?

Saturday

  • Pearl Harbor at 8:00 am
  • Hanauma Bay/Snorkeling
  • Lunch – South Shore Grill
  • Diamond Head hike
  • Dinner – ?

Sunday

  • Skydiving at 9:30 am
  • Haleiwa/Walk around the North Shore
  • Lunch – Grass Skirt Grill
  • Easter dinner – Gyu Kaku

Monday

  • Check out
  • Breakfast – Bogarts
  • Drop parentals and Michael at the airport

NO matter what we’ll be doing, we’re ALL going to have an AWESOME time! Alex will be staying a few more days with us. We will probably do Koko Head, Stairway to Heaven, and Pillbox hikes :)

ATTENTION: IMMEDIATE FAMILY – Stop reading from this point on! (I will have no time to blog while you’re here and I need to get my fix today before you arrive.)

On a similar topic (but not really), I have recently become obsessed with flag garlands. I’m adding to the list currently including anything chevron. Yesterday I was skimming through blogs and came across a post about garlands. Now, these flag garlands (and chevron rugs) are the newest fad among nursery room decor. These ideas are then pushed to the back of my memory because I will not be having a nursery room any time soon. But when Trevor came home talking about decorations and gifts for my parents arrival, I had a perfect opportunity to be artsy and crafty. After a walk through Ben Franklin I decided that flag garlands were a MUST.

I bought a TON of scrapbook paper, made my own triangle template out of cardboard, and cut out 45 pieces of colored flags. If you know me then you know I LOOOVE arts and crafts. I miss the City of Fullerton days full of planning hours and A&C activities. I think I enjoyed the art projects more than my K-1 kids. They used to copy my original…

I finished them last night in 3 hours and hung them up around the house :) I personally think they’re cute and fun but Trevor reminded me they do not fit our overall theme: Ocean. I stepped back and realized it looked like a circus had passed through our living room! I guess flag garlands are meant for nurseries and birthday parties… Oh well, I’ll take them down when my family leaves but you bet your bottom they’ll be back up for my 25TH BIRTHDAY in June! And maybe I’ll save them for future baby Jude and/or Lucy… A ways away :)

Photobucket

I cut out my own letters and hung them up with my Valentine’s Day pineapple :)

Photobucket

From the other side of the room.

Photobucket

Trevor and I recently purchased this look bookcase thing from Target. In its place used to be a very cluttered desk. Now it’s organized.

Photobucket

This is a baseball-sized wad of wax Trevor removed when he cleaned and re-waxed his orange board, Hurbert (we have not agreed on that name).

Photobucket

Long story with this coral. Short story, I took home 2 pieces of coral from the cottages’ beach that had washed up on shore. Trevor thinks I’ve brought bad ju-ju on us; I don’t. I bleached it and now it’s decoration in our house by the water ;) I love it.

Photobucket

Lastly, Trevor and I made sure to greet my parents with all things Hawaii. We hope they love it!

Photobucket

  1. Zico Coconut Water
  2.  Maui Brewing Co. Mana Wheat (brewed with pineapple!)
  3. Longboards Island Lager
  4. Island Princess Macadamia Popcorn Crunch
  5. A Pineapple
  6. Aloha Soy Sauce
  7. Banana Boat Kids Sunscreen (100 SPF – Michael can’t get burned; He’s in a play 2 days later)
  8. Spam
  9. Venti Sized Starbucks Cup (Aloha from Hawaii)
  10. Kilauea Fire Hawaiian Style Hot Sauce
  11. Peeps!
  12. Mauna LoaMacadamia Nuts Covered In Milk Chocolate
  13. A Hand Carved Wooden Frog
  14. Hawaii Cooks With Spam Cook Book (underneath: seasons 1, 2, and 3 of Always Sunny and the missing disk from Community)

*Not pictured: Pog Juice and Portuguese Sausage!

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

